Daily Spends – A Diary of Spending Habits

What I spend, when and where?

Tortilla Price Increase

with 2 comments

It’s amazing how in such a short space of time issues that weren’t once an issue to you come to light and start to bother you.

12 months ago I’d never paid any attention to economics wider than the last £100 in my current account, but suddenly I find my interests embroiled in the workings of international economics.

I now pay attention when I hear stories of food price increases as I can now see how little changes can make a big difference that is felt across the globe.

My attention was drawn today to the Mexican Tortilla Price increase, an issue that will impact many millions of people in Mexico and other places no doubt. I wonder exactly how we can avoid this kind of crisis in the UK? Exactly just how much would prices need to increase by to cause major protests?

It’s scary stuff . . . and my eyes have been opened to an entirely new way of thinking.

Written by dailyspends

May 15, 2008 at 12:01 pm

Posted in random

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Published scoops | baanmo.com wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt It’s amazing how in such a short space of time issues that weren’t once an issue to you come to light and start to bother you. 12 months ago I’d never paid any attention to economics wider than the last £100 in my current account, but suddenly I find my interests embroiled in the workings of international economics. I now pay attention when I hear stories of food price increases as I can now see how little changes can make a big difference that is felt across the globe. My attention was dra […]

  2. I think we are just now beginning to see the affects of the food crisis. Soon we will all be writing a bit more on this subject!

    Godfather (theslowbleed.com)

    Godfather

    May 15, 2008 at 1:03 pm


Leave a Reply

