Daily Spends – A Diary of Spending Habits

What I spend, when and where?

Slashing Travel Costs

leave a comment »

One of my colleagues has been wittering on about doing a car share for months! I’ve dismissed this over and over based on the fact that I like to get into the office early, and leave the office late – and my colleague – doesn’t.

However, whilst discussing this with my Wife the other day we made some startling calculations that have lead to the conclusion that the car share is infact, a great idea.

1 – Monthly Cost saving: £250 (should be enough in itself)
2 – Improved Work Life Balance: Less time travelling, more time with family
3 – Improved Productivity: I reckon my concentration will improve meaning my work productivity should improve

There is one major sacrifice:

1 – Loss of freedom & reliance on someone else: I don’t like to be dictated on how and when I arrive somewhere, which is why I like to travel by myself, it’ll take a bit of getting used to!

So, hmmmm, I have to wonder why I’ve been protesting so much. I’ve got the opportunity to slash my travel costs and I’m going to take it. That’s an extra £3000 in the back burner over the year!!!

Written by dailyspends

June 24, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

